Jesus is the #1 REAL reason for this beautiful season!

There’s something that stirs my heart about watching a plant grow, especially when it happens really fast! We exchanged Christmas gifts with my mom and step-dad on our trip to Georgia over thanksgiving. One of the gifts I received was an Amaryllis kit. When I got home and opened it, it came with a pot to plant it in, a bulb, and what looked like a little hockey puck of soil. Literally the ONLY thing I had to do was wet the soil, it expanded, and viola! My bulb was ready to rest in it’s new domain!

I knew it would bloom eventually, but I never dreamed it’d grow so fast and get so big! Every single morning I could literally see a dramatic difference from the day before! It has been SO much fun to watch this beauty make its big debut. Here’s what it looked like 2 days after planting:

IMG_1326

So I started getting excited! How often do you plant something and see a forming bloom in just 2 days?! See, my mom told me when I opened it, “It’s a Christmas Flower.” I really didn’t take that to heart, I just thought it’d bloom, eventually. To my surprise, only 1 week later, I woke up to this:

IMG_1408

Awesome! I’m starting to think, maybe this thing really is going to bloom on Christmas! So, check out how it looks today:

IMG_1436[1]

The bloom has surpassed the foliage!

So there is actually more to this story than a random post for you to see the progress of my growing flower. This morning in Brother Ray’s message he quoted a scripture about God’s time: “But you must not forget this one thing, dear friends: A day is like a thousand years to the Lord, and a thousand years is like a day” 2 Peter 3:8. Perhaps these past few weeks that I have enjoyed admiring this plant, I got a glimpse of the way God must feel as he watches us grow! He provides the soil, plants the seed, provides the water and when we have his light in our lives we grow and bloom in his Glory! So I say all that to say this:

“Thank you Lord for providing us with what we need. Thank you for planting the seeds in our hearts to seek you. Thank you for the beautiful things that you use on this Earth to stir our hearts and feed our souls. But most of all, thank you for sending your sweet baby son in a manger to suffer in this awful world, to be despised & rejected, and yet STILL make the most ultimate sacrifice to die a painful and excruciating death so that we may be born again and reunited with you, our king in Heaven! I pray that as we admire the beauty of the lights, decorations, good food, great gifts, and all the traditions of Christmas this season… that we remember, MOST IMPORTANTLY, Jesus as the #1 REAL reason! Amen”

One thought on “Jesus is the #1 REAL reason for this beautiful season!

  1. Alicia says:

    Love it! Let us not forget the real reason for Christmas!

Leave a Reply

